Once again we find ourselves making the long journey to Argentina to compete in the Patagonia Cup. This prestigious event is firmly cemented in our rugby calendar and we are pleased to again participate and support this event.

This will be our clubs 9th edition and while it is a time to renew old acquaintances and friendships off the field our club looks forward to the healthy competition that encompasses the spirit of this truly unique tournament.

Since the tournament’s inception in 1999 our club has enjoyed the warmth and friendship of the people of Bahia Blanca who have opened their homes and hearts to us and welcomed us as if we were one of their sons and brothers. I find it difficult to put into words our gratitude however while there is an invitation we will continue to support this tournament.

I am sure that well after the final whistle has been blown and the noise dies down the life-long friendships that will be forged over our time together will continue for many years ahead.

I look forward to the commencement of the tournament and wish the organising committee and the huge band of volunteers who have assisted in bringing this unique and prestigious event together all the very best for a great tournament.

Ken Pope
High School Old Boys Rugby Club
Christchurch, New Zealand



Hall of Fame






Representative Team

Philip O'Reilly
New Zealand
Japan - RWC 2007
Adam Whitelock
New Zealand
Canterbury Crusaders
Craig Clarke 2005 New Zealand Rugby HSOB Crusaders – Hurricanes - Chiefs – All Blacks U19 – All Blacks U21 – Junior All Blacks – Connacht (Ireland)
Peter Borlase 2003 New Zealand Rugby HSOB Crusaders – Munster (Ireland)
Scott Spedding 2005 South Africa Rugby Durban Falcons Natal (Currie Cup) – Sharks – Brive (Top 14 France) – Bayonne (Top 14 France)
Jono Jenkins 2010 Australia Rugby Sydney University  Western Force– Waratahs  – Narbonne (Pro D2 France)
Tom English 2010 Australia Rugby Sydney University Melbourne Rebels  – Australia Sevens  (IRB World Sevens Series)
Sam Carter 2010 Australia Rugby Sydney University Brumbies – Wallabies (Rugby Championship 2014)
Toby L´Estrange 2010 Australia Rugby Sydney University London Welsh (Premiership England) - USA Eagles
Bernardo Stortoni 2012
Argentina Rugby Sociedad Sportiva Narbonne (France) – Rotherham (England)– Bristol Shoguns (England)– Glasgow Warriors (Scotland) 2007-2011. Seleccionado UAR “Los Pumas”
James McPhail 2010 New Zealand Rugby Canterbury Referees IRB World Sevens Series
John Allan 2005 South Africa Rugby Durban Falcons (Coach) Scotland, Scotland XV, South Africa
Greg Mumm 2010 Australia Rugby Sydney University (Coach) Waratahs (Super Rugby Assistant) – Fiji RWC 2011
Francisco Pastrana 2014 Argentina Rugby UAR Referees Super Rugby 2013-2014


Since its first edition in 1999 until today (2014), 40 teams from 5 nations have attended to the Patagonia Cup. Take a look at the list below: